Competition & Awards 2018


In four competitions, LUCAS is presenting an outstanding selection of international fiction films, documentaries, animations and experimental films. A total of 16 feature films, as well as a selection of short films will be competing for the coveted LUCAS awards in the sections 8+ and 13+.

The feature films have a minimum duration of 60 minutes and haven’t had their release in German cinemas. A selection committee pre-screens the latest outstanding productions from all over the world in order to put together a program for the sections 8+ and 13+. Our main focus lies not on premieres but on a high level of quality!

Screening as German premieres for the 8+ and 13+ age groups, short films from around the world supplement the program. In the past years LUCAS has gained great recognition for its short film competition; the quality of this section has been preserved.

Find all winners of LUCAS – International Festival for Young Film Lovers 2017 here!


Section 8+
• Best Feature Film (5.000 €)
• Best Short Film (2.000 €)
• ECFA-Award (only feature films)

Section 13+
• Best Feature Film (5.000 €)
• Best Short Film (2.000 €)
• Award for an Outstanding Cinematic Achievement (2.000 €)

• LUCAS Audience Award (without endowment)