BABYLON

BABYLON

SCREENING

THU, 22.09., 6 PM
CINEMA
Original with English subtitles

The screening is an offer for conference-guests of Film, Flight and Interculturality. Guests not taking part in the conference are able to buy tickets on the evening of the screening at the ticket-counter in CINEMA (opening half an hour before screening).

TUN 2012, Directors: Youssef Chebbi, Ismaël, Ala Eddine Slim, 119 min., documentary film, OV with English subtitles, released 12, recommended 13

In spring 2012 more than one million humans are fleeing Libya to the neighboring country Tunisia due to the sustaining violence in their home country. The participant observation of three filmmakers in a refugee camp near the checkpoint Rad Jdir forms the picture of a modern Babel: humans of different nationalities, employees of international aid agencies and journalists in the smallest spaces. Consequently the film has no subtitles and behind each recording and montage which seems incidental and sometimes crisp hides an aesthetic as well as political decision. Therefore the film does not lead us to a private tent. The last bit of privacy of the residents is maintained. (CK)

Winner, “Best Film,” Festival Internationale de Cinema de Marseille (FID) 2012

TRAILER

DIRECTOR

Ismaël

Ala Eddine

Youssef Chebbi

ismaël is a Tunis filmmaker, artist and author. His works are political and socio-critical and were exhibited in renowned museums such as the Museum of Modern Art in New York. Youssef Chebbi studied script writing at the University of Nanterre. As an assistant director he was involved in various Tunis and Frensh films and released his first short film VERS LE NORD (F/T 2010) in 2010. Ala Eddine Slim  has realized more than ten films since 2006. He is a co-founder  of “Independent Collective of Action for Cinema” and foundation member and general secretary of “Tunisian Association of Action for Cinema. “

Filmography
2012 Babylon

BABYLON

BABYLON

BABYLON

FILMVORFÜHRUNG

DO, 22.09., 18:00 Uhr
CINEMA
Original mit englischen Untertiteln

Die Filmvorführung ist ein Angebot für die Tagungsgäste von Film, Flucht und Interkultur. Gäste die nicht an der Tagung teilnehmen, können am Abend der Vorstellung nur an der Kasse im CINEMA Karten erwerben (ab halbe Stunde vor Vorstellungsbeginn).

TUN 2012, Regie: Youssef Chebbi, Ismaël, Ala Eddine Slim, 119 Min., Dokumentarfilm, OF, freigegeben ab 12, empfohlen ab 13

Im Frühjahr 2012 flüchten mehr als eine Million Menschen aus Libyen vor der anhaltenden Gewalt ins benachbarte Tunesien. Aus der teilnehmenden Beobachtung dreier Filmemacher in einem Flüchtlingslager nahe des Grenzübergangs Ras Jdir ist das Bild eines modernen Babels entstanden: Menschen verschiedener Nationalitäten, Mitarbeiter/innen internationaler Hilfsorganisationen und Pressevertreter/innenauf engsten Raum. Konsequenterweise ist der Film nicht untertitelt und auch sonst steckt hinter jeder beiläufig erscheinenden, manchmal auch spröden Aufnahme und ihrer Montage eine ästhetische Entscheidung, die zugleich auch eine politische ist. So führt uns der Dokumentarfilm nicht in ein privates Zelt. Der letzte Rest Privatsphäre, der den dort wohnenden Menschen verbleibt, wird gewahrt. (CK)

Gewinner »Bester Film«, Festival Internationale de Cinéma de Marseille (FID) 2012

TRAILER

REGIE

Ismaël

Ala Eddine

Youssef Chebbi

REGIE
Ismaël
ist ein tunesischer Filmemacher, Künstler und Autor. Seine Arbeiten sind politisch und gesellschaftskritisch. Seine Werke wurden bereits in renommierten Museen wie etwadem Museum Of Modern Art in New York ausgestellt. Youssef Chebbi studiert Drehbuchschreiben an der University of Nanterre. Als Regieassistent war er bei verschiedenen tunesischen und französischen Filmen tätig und veröffentlichte 2010 seinen ersten Kurzfilm VERSE LE NORD (F/T 2010). Ala Eddine Slim hat seit 2006 über zehn Filme realisiert. Er ist Mitgründer des „Independent Collective of Action for Cinema“ und Gründungsmitglied sowie Generalsekretär der Tunisian Association of Action for Cinema.

Filmografie (gemeinsam)
2012 Babylon