DIE BRÜCKE / THE BRIDGE

DIE BRÜCKE / THE BRIDGE

DIE BRÜCKE / THE BRIDGE

SCREENINGS

THU, 22.09., 10 AM
Kino im Hafen 2
Films in German

FRI, 23.09., 11 AM
Kino des Deutschen Filmmuseums
Selection of language version via headphones – Original or German

During the Festival the tickets for screenings at the same day can only be bought at the ticket counters of the theaters where the screenings take place. Tickets for upcoming days might be booked under 069 961 220 678 with the exception of the Caligari FilmBühne.

D 1959, Director: Bernhard Wicki, 105 min., feature film, in German, released 12, recommended 13

 A part of German film history: the (anti-)war film from 1959 – freely adapted from Gregor Dorfmeister’s autobiographical novel of the same name. April 1945, during the last days of the war: in a small city in the Bavarian Forest seven 16-year-olds, each from a different family background, are about to be drafted to the Wehrmacht. Due to National Socialist pedagogy, war is for them not only a masculine duty, but also an honor, a chance to defend the Fatherland. The boys are commanded to defend a strategically unimportant bridge from the advancing American troops. Only one of them survives the utterly senseless mission. (SW)

Winner »Best Foreign Film« Golden Globes 1960

»The antiwar film DIE BRÜCKE succeeds in realistically, authentically, and brutally bringing the horrors of war home – more so than any film before or after it. Beyond this, the film shows us the insanity and cruelty of war. The film is an indescribable masterpiece and belongs to the canon of films that absolutely have to be seen.«
Sead Hadzimusovic, Helene Lange-Schule, Frankfurt Höchst

DIRECTOR

Bernhard Wicki

DIRECTOR
After his final secondary-school examination Bernhard Wicki visited the public drama school in Berlin.  In 1939 he was imprisoned for many months in the Sachsenhausen concentration camp. After his release he worked as an actor and attended the Max-Reinhardt-Seminar in Vienna. With the antiwar-film DIE BRÜCKE (1959) he became internationally famous

Filmography (selection)
1989 Das Spinnennetz / 1984 Die Grünstein-Variante / 1977 Die Eroberung der Zitadelle / 1964 Der Besuch / 1961 Das Wunder des Malchias / 1959 Die Brücke / 1958 Warum sind sie gegen uns?

DIE BRÜCKE / THE BRIDGE

DIE BRÜCKE / THE BRIDGE

DIE BRÜCKE

FILMVORFÜHRUNGEN

DO, 22.09., 10:00 Uhr
CineStar Metropolis
Einsprache der deutschen Übersetzung im Saal

FR, 23.09., 11:00 Uhr
Kino des Deutschen Filmmuseums
Auswahl der Sprachversion über Kopfhörer – Original oder deutsche Übersetzung

Karten können während des Festivals am Tag der Vorstellung nur an den jeweiligen Kassen Countern erstanden werden. Kartenbuchungen für Folgetage sind – mit Ausnahme der Caligari FilmBühne – telefonisch unter 069 961 220 678 möglich.

D 1959, Regie: Bernhard Wicki, 105 Min., Spielfilm, dt. OF
FSK 12, empfohlen ab 13

Ein Stück deutsche Kinogeschichte: der (Anti-)Kriegsfilm aus dem Jahre 1959 – frei  nach dem gleichnamigen autobiografischen Roman von Gregor Dorfmeister.  April 1945, die letzten Kriegstage: In einer Kleinstadt im Bayerischen Wald stehen sieben 16-jährige Jungen, jeder mit einem sehr unterschiedlichen sozialen Hintergrund, kurz vor der Einberufung zur Wehrmacht. Krieg ist für sie – so will es die nationalsozialistische Erziehung – nicht nur eine männliche Pflicht, sondern ebenso eine Ehre, das Vaterland  zu verteidigen. Die Jungen werden abkommandiert, eine – strategisch unwichtige – Brücke vor den anrückenden Amerikanern zu verteidigen. (SW)

»Der Antikriegsfilm DIE BRÜCKE schafft es uns den Schrecken des Krieges realistischer, authentischer und brutaler näher zubringen wie kein Film vor oder nach ihm. Außerdem zeigt der Film die Sinnlosigkeit und Grausamkeit des Krieges, ist ein unbeschreibliches Meisterwerk und gehört zu den Filmen, die man unbedingt gesehen haben muss.«
Sead Hadzimusovic, Helene Lange-Schule, Frankfurt Höchst

TRAILER

REGIE

Bernhard Wicki

Nach dem Abitur besuchte Bernhard Wicki die Schauspielschule des Staatlichen Schauspielhauses in Berlin. 1939 wurde er für mehrere Monate im Konzentrationslager Sachsenhausen inhaftiert. Nach seiner Entlassung besuchte er das Max-Reinhardt-Seminar in Wien und arbeitete als Schauspieler. Mit dem Antikriegsfilm DIE BRÜCKE gelang Wicki der internationale Durchbruch als Regisseur.

Filmografie (Auswahl)
1989 Das Spinnennetz / 1984 Die Grünstein-Variante / 1977 Die Eroberung der Zitadelle / 1964 Der Besuch / 1961 Das Wunder des Malchias / 1959 Die Brücke / 1958 Warum sind sie gegen uns?