RARA

RARA

RARA

SCREENING

TUE, 20.09., 11 AM
Kino des Deutschen Filmmuseums
Selection of language version via headphones – Original or German

WED, 21.09., 11:30 AM
Caligari FilmBühne
German voice-over and English subtitles

During the Festival the tickets for screenings at the same day can only be bought at the ticket counters of the theaters where the screenings take place. Tickets for upcoming days might be booked under 069 961 220 678 with the exception of the Caligari FilmBühne.

CHI/ARG 2016, Director: Pepa San Martin, 93 min., feature film, OV with English subtitles, released 6, recommended 10

The 12-year-old Sara lives with her younger sister, her mother, and her mother’s partner. Their mother’s lesbian relationship is hardly extraordinary for the girls, and their family’s everyday life resembles that of most families: eating together, laughing, arguing, and making up. But their family constellation does not always meet with acceptance. When their father sues for custody, this family is endanger of coming apart at the seams. Subtly and without over-dramatization, RARA questions the hegemonic concept of families. It’s not same-sex parents, but society’s reactions and particularly puberty that precipitate the adolescents’ plunge into emotional chaos. (MK)

Winner » Grand Prize of the International Jury«, Berlinale Generation Kplus 2016

TRAILER

DIRECTOR

Pepa San Martín

Pepa San Martín studied acting and started her career in various theatrical productions before becoming a director. In 2011 she presented her first short: LA DUCHA won the DAAD Short Film Award at the Berlinale. RARA is Martín’s debut feature.

Filmography
2016 Rara / 2012 Gleisdreieck / 2010 La Ducha

RARA

RARA

RARA

FILMVORFÜHRUNGEN

DI, 20.09., 11:00 Uhr
Kino des Deutschen Filmmuseums
Auswahl der Sprachversion über Kopfhörer – Original oder deutsche Übersetzung

MI, 21.09., 11:30 Uhr
Caligari FilmBühne
Einsprache der deutschen Übersetzung im Saal und englische Untertitel

Karten können während des Festivals am Tag der Vorstellung nur an den jeweiligen Kassen Countern erstanden werden. Kartenbuchungen für Folgetage sind – mit Ausnahme der Caligari FilmBühne – telefonisch unter 069 961 220 678 möglich.

CHI/ARG 2016, Regie: Pepa San Martin, 93 Min., Spielfilm, OmeU
freigegeben ab 6, empfohlen ab 10

Die 12-Jährige Sara lebt mit ihrer jüngeren Schwester, ihrer Mutter und deren Lebensgefährtin zusammen. Während die lesbische Beziehung für die Mädchen nichts Außergewöhnliches ist und der Alltag sich wie in den meisten Familien gestaltet – man isst zusammen, lacht, streitet und verträgt sich – stößt die Konstellation nicht überall auf Akzeptanz. Als der Vater das Sorgerecht einklagt, droht die Familie auseinandergerissen zu werden. Subtil und entdramatisiert stellt RARA das Diktat hegemonialer Familienkonzepte infrage. Nicht die gleichgeschlechtlichen Eltern, sondern die Reaktionen der Gesellschaft, vor allem aber die Pubertät stürzen die Jugendlichen ins Gefühlschaos. (MK)

Gewinner »Großer Preis der Internationalen Jury« , Berlinale Generation Kplus 2016

TRAILER

REGIE

Pepa San Martín

Pepa San Martín studierte Schauspiel und arbeitete zunächst in verschiedenen Theaterproduktionen bevor sie begann, selbst Regie zu führen. 2011 legte sie ihren ersten Kurzfilm vor: LA DUCHA gewann auf der Berlinale den DAAD-Kurzfilmpreis. RARA ist Martíns Spielfilmdebüt.

Filmografie
2016 Rara / 2012 Gleisdreieck / 2010 La Ducha,