THE HELP

THE HELP

THE HELP

SCREENING

TUE, 20.09., 9 PM
Kino des Deutschen Filmmuseums
Original with English subtitles

During the Festival the tickets for screenings at the same day can only be bought at the ticket counters of the theaters where the screenings take place. Tickets for upcoming days might be booked under 069 961 220 678 with the exception of the Caligari FilmBühne.

USA 2011, Director: Tate Taylor, 106 min., feature film
OV with English subtitles, released 0, recommended 14

Jackson, Mississippi, at the beginning of the 1960s. The US Civil Rights Movement gradually sparks a bushfire that expands throughout the country. The young, white, and affluent Skeeter returns to her hometown in the Southern countryside after college and dreams of becoming a writer. Fueled by an innocent sense of justice and the liberal viewpoints of university life, she has a plan for her first book. She interviews women, who have spent their whole lives as black house servants taking care of the children of the white upper classes. The book is supposed to give them a voice. Skeeter comes up against several obstacles, but in the end the book is a great success. (SW)

Winner Oscar® Academy Awards 2012

TRAILER

DIRECTOR

Tate Taylor

After graduating from University of Mississippi, Tate Taylor released his directing debut CHICKEN PARTY in 2004. In cooperation with Kathryn Stockett, author of the novel THE HELP, Taylor established a programme, which offers creative and structural support for filmmakers and authors. He was on camera as an actor himself.

Filmography
2016 The Girl on the Train / 2014 Get on Up / 2011 The Help / 2008 Pretty Ugly People / 2004 Chicken Party

THE HELP

THE HELP

THE HELP

FILMVORFÜHRUNG

DI, 20.09., 21:00 Uhr
Kino des Deutschen Filmmuseums
Original mit englischen Untertiteln

Karten können während des Festivals am Tag der Vorstellung nur an den jeweiligen Kassen Countern erstanden werden. Kartenbuchungen für Folgetage sind – mit Ausnahme der Caligari FilmBühne – telefonisch unter 069 961 220 678 möglich.

USA 2011, Regie: Tate Taylor, 106 Min., Spielfilm, OmeU
FSK 0, empfohlen ab 14

Jackson (Mississippi), Anfang der 1960er Jahre. Die US-Bürgerrechtsbewegung weitet sich allmählich zu einem landesweiten Buschfeuer aus. Die junge, weiße, wohlhabende Skeeter kehrt nach dem Studium in ihre Heimatstadt in die Südstaaten-Provinz zurück und träumt davon, Schriftstellerin zu werden. Angetrieben von einem unschuldigen Gerechtigkeitssinn und den liberalen Ansichten einer universitären Welt hat sie einen Plan für ihr erstes Buch: Sie interviewt Frauen, die sich ihr Leben lang als schwarze Hausmädchen um die Kinder der weißen Oberschicht gekümmert haben. Das Buch soll ihnen eine Stimme verleihen. Skeeter eckt an allen Seiten an, doch das Buch wird zu einem großen Erfolg. (SW)

Gewinner Oscar® Academy Awards 2012

TRAILER

REGIE

Tate Taylor

Nachdem Tate Taylor an der University of Mississippi studiert hat, feierte er 2004 sein Regiedebüt mit CHICKEN PARTY. Zusammen mit Kathryn Stockett, die den Roman THE HELP schrieb, etablierte er ein Patenprogramm, das Autoren und Filmemachern kreative sowie strukturelle Unterstützung bietet. Taylor stand auch selbst als Schauspieler vor der Kamera.

Filmografie
2016 The Girl on the Train / 2014 Get on Up / 2011 The Help / 2008 Pretty Ugly People / 2004 Chicken Party