Competition & Awards 2019


In the competitions, LUCAS puts its focus on outstanding, international productions of children and youth films, including all forms and genres. A total of 16 feature films, as well as a selection of short films will be competing for the coveted LUCAS-awards in the sections 8+ and 13+. In the newly added section 16+ | Youngsters, five more films will be competing for the LUCAS Youngsters Award.

The feature films have a minimum duration of 60 minutes and haven’t had their release in German cinemas. A selection committee pre-screens the latest outstanding productions from all over the world in order to put together a program for the sections 8+, 13+ and 16+. Our main focus lies not on premieres but on the highest level of quality!

Screening as German premieres for the sections 8+ and 13+, short films from around the world supplement the competition line-up. In the past years LUCAS has gained great recognition for its short film competition; the quality of these programs has been continuously preserved.


Section 8+
• Best Feature Film (5.000 €)
• Best Short Film (2.000 €)

Section 13+
• Best Feature Film (5.000 €)
• Best Short Film (2.000 €)
• Award for an Outstanding Cinematic Achievement (2.000 €)

Section 16+ | Youngsters
• LUCAS Youngsters Award (3.000 €)

• ECFA Award
• LUCAS Audience Award (without endowment)
• Bridging The Borders Award (without endowment)