Competition and Awards 2019


In the competitions, LUCAS presents a selection of outstanding international feature films, documentaries, animations, and experimental films. A total of 20 feature-length films and a selection of short films in sections 8+, 13+ and 16+ | Youngsters will compete for the coveted LUCAS prizes. 

The feature films have a running time of more than 59 minutes and have not yet been shown in German cinemas. A selection committee travels to festivals and industry meetings to select competition entries for the 8+, 13+, and 16+ | Youngsters sections from the strongest current productions worldwide. It’s not premiere status, but quality that counts! 

With its short film competition, LUCAS has earned itself a special reputation in recent years. From the best international submissions of up to 30 minutes running time, a selection committee puts together several competition programs for the 8+ and 13+ sections, all of which are German premieres. 

Click here for the winning films of LUCAS#42 >> 


Section 8+ 

• Best Feature Film (5,000 €) donated by the Sparkassen-Kulturstiftung Hessen-Thüringen
• Best Short Film (2.000 €)

Section 13+ 

• Best Feature Film (5.000 €)
• Best Short Film (2.000 €)
Award for an Outstanding Cinematic Achievement (2.000 €) 

Section 16+ | Youngsters 

LUCAS Youngsters Award (5.000 €) 

All sections 

ECFA-Award (unendowed)
Audience Award (unendowed)
Bridging the Borders Award (unendowed)