Competition & Awards 2017


In four competitions, LUCAS is presenting an outstanding selection of international fiction films, documentaries, animations and experimental films. A total of 16 feature films, as well as a selection of short films will be competing for the coveted LUCAS awards in the sections 8+ and 13+.

The feature films have a running time of 60 minutes or longer and have not yet been shown in German cinemas. A selection committee attends festivals and industry meetings in order to select eight of the best current productions worldwide to compete in the sections 8+ and 13+. Films are selected not according to their premiere status, but to their quality only!

In the past years LUCAS has gained great recognition for its short film competition. A selection committee has compiled several competition programmes for the sections 8+ and 13+ from the best international submissions of films with a length of up to 30 minutes, all of which will be shown as German premieres.

Click here to find the winners of LUCAS – International Festival for Young Film Lovers 2017


Section 8+
• Award for Best Feature Film (5.000 €)
• Award for Best Short Film (2.000 €)
• ECFA-Award (feature film competition)

Section 13+
• Award for Best Feature Film (5.000 €)
• Award for Best Short Film (2.000 €)
• Award for an Outstanding Cinematic Achievement (2.000 €)

• Audience Award