SUPA MODO

SUPA MODO

DE/KE 2018. D: Likarion Wainaina. 73 min. Fiction film. Swa/Eng/Kik. OV with Eng. ST and German voice-over
Suitable from age 6. Recommended from age 9

If it was up to her mother, nine-year old Jo would be at home with a hot-water bottle all day long. But she would much rather spend her time with her film-loving friend at the cinema or flying through the air as a superhero. Her big sister can no longer watch the incurably ill Jo spend her last days in bed and comes up with a plan that will make Jo’s biggest dream come true. She encourages Jo to believe in her own magic powers and, with the help of their town, creates a film within the film. A thrilling story about the power of fantasy and saying farewell. (JF)

Zlín FF 2018: Winner »Golden Slipper« for Best Feature & »Ecumenical Jury Award«, Kristiansand International Children’s FF 2018: Winner »ECFA Award«, Zanzibar IFF 2018: Winner »Best Film« & »European African Film Festival Award«

MON, 24.9. | 9 am | Kino des Deutschen Filmmuseums
By prior appointment: LUCAS FILM FORUM >>fully booked
TUE, 25.9. | 9 am | CineStar Metropolis

TRAILER

DIRECTOR


Likarion Wainaina (*Moscow) is a Kenyan film and television director as well as camera operator for fiction and documentary films, advertisement films and music videos (Aloe Blacc i.a.). After short films such as BETWEEN THE LINES and BAIT, developed during the 48 Hour Film Project 2015 and screened at Cannes 2016, SUPA MODO is his feature debut.

Filmography (Selection)
2018 SUPA MODO | 2014-2016 AUNTIE BOSS (TV series) | 2015 BAIT (short film) | 2013 BETWEEN THE LINES (shortfilm)

SUPA MODO

SUPA MODO

DE/KE 2018. R: Likarion Wainaina. 73 Min. Spielfilm
Swa/eng/kik. OmeU mit dt. Live-Einsprache. Freigegeben ab 6. Empfohlen ab 9

Wenn es nach ihrer Mutter ginge, sollte die neunjährige Jo am besten den ganzen Tag mit Wärmflasche zu Hause liegen. Dabei würde sie ihre Zeit lieber im Kino bei ihrem filmaffinen Freund verbringen oder als Superheldin durch die Lüfte fliegen. Ihre große Schwester kann nicht mit ansehen, wie die unheilbar kranke Jo ihre letzten Tage im Bett verbringt und schmiedet einen Plan, der Jos größten Traum wahr werden lässt: Sie ermuntert Jo, an ihre magischen Kräfte zu glauben und dreht mit dem ganzen Dorf einen Film im Film. Eine mitreißende Geschichte über die Kraft der Fantasie und das Abschiednehmen. (JF)

Zlín FF 2018: Gewinner »Golden Slipper« für den Besten Film & »Ökumenischer Preis der Jury«, Kristiansand International Children’s FF 2018: Gewinner »ECFA Award« Zanzibar IFF 2018: Gewinner »Best Film« & »European African Film Festival Award«

Themen: Familie, Krankheit, Abschied, Superhelden, Film im Film
Unterrichtsfächer: Religion/Ethik, Philosophie, Erdkunde, Kunst, Darstellendes Spiel

MO, 24.9. | 9 Uhr | Kino des Deutschen Filmmuseums
Nach Voranmeldung: LUCAS Leinwandgespräch

DI, 25.9. | 9 Uhr | CineStar Metropolis

Zu diesem Film bieten wir pädagogisches Begleitmaterial an.

TRAILER

REGIE


Likarion Wainaina (*Moskau) ist ein kenianischer Film- und Fernsehregisseur sowie Kameramann für Spiel- und Dokumentarfilme, Werbespots und Musikvideos (Aloe Blacc u.a.). Nach Kurzfilmen wie BETWEEN THE LINES und BAIT, der beim 48 Hour Film Project 2015 entstand und 2016 in Cannes lief, ist SUPA MODO sein Langfilmdebüt.

Filmografie (Auswahl)
2018 SUPA MODO | 2014–2016 AUNTIE BOSS (TV-Serie) | 2015 BAIT (Kurzfilm) | 2013 BETWEEN THE LINES (Kurzfilm)