Jury 13+

Jury 13+

Paul Riedel (15)
Kronberg-Gymnasium, Aschaffenburg
Joschua Kiefer (17)
Leibnizschule, Wiesbaden
Elisabeth Felgenhauer (15)
Freiherr-vom-Stein-Schule, Wetzlar
If Paul were to make his own film, many references and the best camera shots from his favourite films would be included such as from BLADE RUNNER (US 1982, D: Ridley Scott). LUCAS is an opportunity for him, to see films outside of the mainstream, engage with filmmakers and to find out what happens when a film is shot.
Cineast Joshua is at home in front of the screen as behind the camera, one day he’d like to make his hobby his job. He is fascinated by films such as AMERICAN BEAUTY (US 1999, D: Sam Mendes), in which the suburban idyll cracks. His practical experience adds to his jury duties at LUCAS, and he is particularly looking forward to new discoveries in the programme.
For Elisabeth, things might as well be corny and excessive sometimes, because »life is already serious enough«. When she is not distracted by homework or her phone, the cinema becomes a place for her in which you can dream and fully engage with a film. As a jury member, she is excited about actively participating in a festival.
Evangelia Themeli (Greece)
Film Scholar
Farida El-Gueretly (Egypt)
Programme Curator and Educational Researcher
Torfinn Iversen (Norway)
Director
The studied linguist and film scholar Evangelia Themeli specialised in theory and history of film and obtained her doctorate on »Film education in school«. She works in Heraklion as a theatre- and film educator among other things and operates for the International Olympia Film Festival for Children and Young People as well as the Camera Zizanio.
Farida El-Gueretly is member of the research network against poverty Abdul-Latif Jameel Poverty Action Lab and has been active in education and advising for many years. In 2017, she was programme and education coordinator for Panorama of the European Film at the Zawya Arthouse Cinema Cairo. She is a co-founder of the KIN-Institute that offers children in Cairo informal learning experiences.
Torfinn Iversen studied Visual Culture (Film and Television) in Lillehammer and subsequently graduated at the Nordland Art and Film School. After his participation in the Berlinale Talent Campus 2009, he was part of the Berlinale Programme with his short film LEVI’S HORSE. His feature film debut OSKARS AMERICA won the prize for best feature-length film at LUCAS in the section 8+ in 2017.

JURY 13+

Jury 13+

Paul Riedel (15)
Kronberg-Gymnasium, Aschaffenburg
Joschua Kiefer (17)
Leibnizschule, Wiesbaden
Elisabeth Felgenhauer (15)
Freiherr-vom-Stein-Schule, Wetzlar
Würde Paul selbst einen Film drehen, wären viele Anspielungen und die besten Kameraeinstellungen aus seinen Lieblingsfilmen enthalten, wie zum Beispiel aus BLADE RUNNER (US 1982, R: Ridley Scott). LUCAS ist für ihn die Gelegenheit, Filme abseits des Mainstream zu sehen, mit Filmschaffenden ins Gespräch zu kommen und zu erfahren, was bei einem Filmdreh eigentlich abläuft.
Cineast Joshua ist vor der Kinoleinwand genauso zu Hause wie hinter der Kamera, sein Hobby möchte er einmal zum Beruf machen. Ihn faszinieren Filme wie AMERICAN BEAUTY (US 1999, R: Sam Mendes), in denen das Vorstadtidyll Risse bekommt. Seine Praxiserfahrungen bringt er auch als LUCAS-Jurymitglied ein, besonders freut er sich dabei auf Neuentdeckungen im Programm.
Für Elisabeth darf es auch mal kitschig oder übertrieben sein, denn »das Leben ist doch sonst schon ernst genug«. Wenn keine Hausaufgaben und kein Handy ablenken, wird das Kino für sie zu einem Ort, an dem man träumen darf und sich voll und ganz auf einen Film einlassen kann. Als Jurymitglied ist sie gespannt darauf, einmal selbst aktiv an einem Festival mitzuwirken.
Evangelia Themeli (Griechenland) Filmwissenschaftlerin
Farida El-Gueretly (Ägypten) Programmkuratorin und Bildungsforscherin
Torfinn Iversen (Norwegen) Regisseur
Die studierte Sprach- und Filmwissenschaftlerin Evangelia Themeli ist auf Theorie und Geschichte des Films spezialisiert und promovierte zum Thema »Filmbildung in der Schule«. Sie arbeitet in Heraklion unter anderem als Theater- und Filmpädagogin und ist für das International Olympia Film Festival for Children and Young People sowie das Camera Zizanio tätig.
Farida El-Gueretly ist Mitglied des Forschungsnetzwerks gegen Armut Abdul-Latif Jameel Poverty Action Lab und langjährig im Bildungs- und Beratungsbereich tätig. 2017 war sie Programm- und Bildungskoordinatorin für das Panorama of the European Film des Zawya Arthouse-Kinos Kairo. Sie ist Mitgründerin des KIN-Institutes, das Kindern in Kairo informelle Lernerfahrungen bietet.
Torfinn Iversen studierte Visuelle Kultur (Film und Fernsehen) in Lillehammer und graduierte anschließend an der Nordland Art and Film School. Nach seiner Teilnahme am Berlinale Talent Campus 2009 war er 2012 mit seinem Kurzfilm LEVI’S HORSE im Berlinale-Programm vertreten. Sein Langfilmdebüt OSKARS AMERIKA gewann bei LUCAS 2017 den Preis für den Besten Langfilm in der Sektion 8+.