Mitmischen! 2020

GET INVOLVED!

NOT JUST WATCHING, BUT TAKING PART: »GET INVOLVED« offers participatory projects before, during and after the festival week. Here you can get involved in a very practical way to experience and understand film. For the 43rd edition, the many activities and workshop formats will, partly or completely, take place online. 

Button Sektionen

What is »Get Involved«?

The linchpin are the LUCAS films: they offer new perspectives for children and teenagers who want to learn more about and engage with the world they live in. In the juries, kids discuss the entries of the international competitions with film professionals and award prizes, while the film patrons stand in front of the screen and get you in the mood for the film with their moderation. We go even more in-depth in the screen talks. In exclusive workshops with film guests, small groups can get behind the thoughts and experiences of the director. This and many other exciting workshops will take place during the festival week, but preparations are often made before the festival even begins. In the Klassiker.Klasse children themselves create the program that will be shown during LUCAS and present it to an audience. And despite the pandemic, the Young European Cinephiles will once again have a say at LUCAS in an exciting online challenge. 

Consultation and registration: 

Wilke Bitter | bitter@dff.film | Tel. 069 961 220-672

LUCAS Critics 

Which film is great, which isn’t – and above all: Why? Writing reviews means phrasing one’s own opinion in a stylistically confident and convincing way. This is exactly what the LUCAS Critics is all about. At the festival, the young people first view several competition films and then go to workshops with film educator Lara Verschragen to investigate their content and aesthetic design.  

Like LUCAS, this year’s review workshop functions as a hybrid and consists of online discussions and cinema screenings, if possible.  

Age: 16 to 18 years  

Including the festival pass for the whole LUCAS week  

You can find the results during the LUCAS Festival week here. 

 

LUCAS Film Patrons – one Class, one film!

Curtain up for the Film Patrons! A few weeks before the Festival, preparation begins at school: What does the film make us feel or think? What questions do we have for the director, the producer or an actress? In short, the young film fans become experts of “their film” and, under professional guidance, acquire a lasting understanding of the medium – Depending on the circumstances, either on site or in online workshops with the LUCAS film mediators.   

Then the Film Patron class go live: instead of asking the filmmakers their questions, like usual, in the cinema, the school class meets them in an online conference. The conversation well be recorded and presented to the LUCAS audience as bonus material during the festival week.  

Age: All

LUCAS screen talks: Workshops with filmmakers 

Here we get down to business: After a screening, groups can ask our film guests questions to their heart’s desire during an in-depth screen talk. In an exclusive online conference for the school class, AG, etc., the filmmakers are available for questions and answers: Why this camera perspective, why that music? In the undisturbed atmosphere of an online workshop and with the support of a film educator, the screen talk is an ideal format to express all the thoughts and ideas that the film has awakened, 

or to finally ask the questions you always wanted to ask a director, actor or author. In addition, the LUCAS film mediators provide exciting work assignments in the screen talk, which allow you to dive even deeper into the film.  

Age: All

Duration: approx. 60 min. The offer is available for all competition films of the age sections 8+ and 13+ presented in the DFF cinema. 

Young European Cinephiles – YEC-Challenge 2020

One theme – three film recommendations!  

The YEC-Challenge 2020 calls on young people across Europe, aged 16 and above, to recommend up to three films around a topic of particular personal interest to them. In this way, the Challenge ties in with the series of themes that young people have created themselves at LUCAS in recent years: “Crossing Borders” in 2019, and “Digitize Me!” in 2018.  

In order to create a lively exchange with the contributions to the challenge on LUCAS’ digital channels, the participants will send us short video clips in which they briefly explain their titles and topic.  

The Young European Cinephiles is an annually changing group of young film-loving Europeans who curate and present their own film series – and thus bring a young, international attitude towards life to LUCAS. Due to travel restrictions, the Young European Cinephiles cannot come to Frankfurt for the 43rd edition of the festival, but LUCAS will make their voices heard online!  

Age: All

Mitmischen! 2020

MITMISCHEN!

NICHT NUR ZUSCHAUEN, SONDERN MITMACHEN: »MITMISCHEN!« heißt das Angebot partizipativer Projekte vor, während und nach der Festivalwoche. Dabei kann man sich ganz praktisch einbringen, Film erleben und verstehen. Für die 43. Ausgabe finden die vielen Aktionen und Workshopformate zum Teil oder vollständig online statt. 

Button Sektionen

Button Sektionen

Button Sektionen

Button Sektionen

Was ist »Mitmischen«?
Dreh- und Angelpunkt sind die LUCAS-Filme: Sie bieten neue Blickwinkel für Kinder und Jugendliche, die Lust darauf haben, sich mit der Welt, in der sie leben, auseinanderzusetzen. In den Jurys diskutieren Kids die Beiträge der internationalen Wettbewerbe mit Filmprofis und verleihen Preise, die Filmpat/innen stehen vor der Leinwand und stimmen mit ihrer Moderation auf den Film ein. Noch intensiver wird’s im Leinwandgespräch: Im exklusiven Kleingruppen-Workshop mit Filmgästen kann man den Gedanken und Erfahrungen der Regisseurin oder des Regisseurs auf den Zahn fühlen. Dieser und viele weitere spannende Workshops finden während der Festivalwoche statt, doch die Vorbereitungen beginnen oft schon vorher: Bei der Klassiker.Klasse gestalten Kinder selbst das Programm, das während LUCAS zu sehen sein wird und präsentieren es vor Publikum. Und trotz Pandemie kommen die Young European Cinephiles bei LUCAS wieder zu Wort: In einer spannenden Online-Challenge.

Beratung und Anmeldung:

Wilke Bitter | bitter@dff.film | Tel. 069 961 220-672

LUCAS Kritikfenster

Welcher Film ist toll, welcher nicht – und vor allem: Warum? Kritiken schreiben, das heißt stilsicher und überzeugend die eigene Meinung formulieren. Genau das steht beim LUCAS Kritikfenster auf dem Programm. Auf dem Festival sichten die Jugendlichen zuerst mehrere Wettbewerbsfilme und gehen dann in Workshops mit Filmpädagogin Lara Verschragen deren inhaltlicher und ästhetischer Gestaltung auf den Grund.

Wie LUCAS funktioniert der Kritikworkshop dieses Jahr hybrid und besteht aus Online-Besprechungen sowie Sichtungen im Kino, soweit möglich.

Altersstufe: 16 bis 20 Jahre
Inklusive Festivalpass für die gesamte LUCAS-Woche

Die Ergebnisse findet Ihr während der LUCAS-Festivalwoche hier.

LUCAS Filmpaten – eine Schulklasse, ein Film!

Vorhang auf für die Filmpaten! Schon einige Wochen vorher beginnt die Vorbereitung in der Schule: Was macht der Film mit uns? Welche Fragen haben wir an die Regisseurin, den Produzenten oder eine Darstellerin?  Kurz, die jungen Filmfans werden zu Expert/innen für »ihren Film« und eignen sich das Medium unter professioneller Anleitung nachhaltig an. Je nach Möglichkeit vor Ort oder in Online-Workshops mit den LUCAS-Filmvermittler/innen. 

Dann gehen die Filmpatenklassen auf Sendung: Statt wie gewöhnlich die Filmschaffenden im Kinosaal mit ihren Fragen zu löchern, trifft die Schulklasse sie in einer Onlinekonferenz. Das Gespräch wird aufgezeichnet und als Bonusmaterial für die Festivalwoche dem LUCAS-Publikum präsentiert.

Außerdem lernten Filmpat/innen von der Frankfurt International School, wie man eine Filmkritik schreibt. Lest selbst! Hier geht’s zu den Texten.

Altersstufe: Alle

LUCAS Leinwandgespräche: Workshops mit Filmschaffenden

Hier geht’s ans Eingemachte: Im intensiven Leinwandgespräch können Gruppen nach einer Vorführung unsere Filmgäste nach Herzenslust mit Fragen löchern. In einer exklusiven Online-Konferenz für die Schulklasse, AG usw. stehen die Filmschaffenden Rede und Antwort: Warum diese Kameraperspektive, wozu diese Musik? In ungestörter Atmosphäre eines Online-Workshopraums und mit einer/m Filmpädagog/in als Unterstützung ist das Leinwandgespräch das ideale Format für alle Gedanken und Ideen, die der Film geweckt hat,

oder um Fragen loszuwerden, die man einer/m Regisseur/in, Schauspieler/in oder Autor/in schon immer mal stellen wollte. Darüber hinaus stellen die LUCAS-Filmvermittler/innen im Leinwandgespräch spannende Arbeitsaufträge, die noch tiefer in den Film einsteigen lassen.

Altersstufe: Alle

Dauer: ca. 60 Min. Das Angebot gilt für alle Wettbewerbsfilme der Alterssektionen 8+ und 13+, die im Kino des DFF präsentiert werden.

Young European Cinephiles – #curatorchallenge 2020

(M)ein Thema – drei Filmempfehlungen!

Die #curatorchallenge der Young European Cinephiles ruft Jugendliche ab 16 Jahren in ganz Europa dazu auf, per Videobotschaft bis zu drei Filme zu empfehlen, die um ein für sie persönlich besonders wichtiges Thema kreisen. Damit knüpft die Challenge an die Themenreihen an, die Jugendliche in den vergangen Jahren bei LUCAS selbst gestaltet haben: “Crossing Borders – Grenzen” 2019, und „Digitize Me! – Digitale Welten” 2018. Mehr…

Einreichungen per Videobotschaft bis 1. Oktober an bitter@dff.film

 

Damit über die Beiträge ein lebendiger Austausch in LUCAS’ digitalen Kanälen entstehen kann, schicken uns die Teilnehmer/innen der Challenge kurze Videoclips, in denen sie ihre Titel und ihr Thema kurz und knapp erklären.

Die Young European Cinephiles, das ist eine jährlich wechselnde Gruppe junger filmbegeisterter Europäer/innen, die ihre eigene Filmreihe kuratieren und präsentieren – und damit junges, internationales Lebensgefühl zu LUCAS bringen. Aufgrund der Reisebeschränkungen können die Young European Cinephiles zur 43. Festivalausgabe nicht nach Frankfurt kommen, aber LUCAS gibt ihren Stimmen online Gehör!

Altersstufe: Alle