YECs 2019

YOUNG EUROPEAN CINEPHILES

CROSSING BORDERS With »YECs«, the young generation of European cineastes comes to Frankfurt. Four young people from Germany and Luxembourg present their film program and discuss with the festival visitors on a current issue. The topic is »borders«, freely interpreted and viewed from different angles

    Anna Brilla 
        Damir Mehic
      Gabriel Thym
         Joshua Kiefer

Where are my borders, yours, ours? Are they even perceptible, and what happens when you cross them? “When it comes to borders, we first think of geography and maps-of borders between countries, properties and people who move across them,” says Anna Brilla (18), explaining the reflections of the »YECs« on the subject. “But individual people are also constantly testing boundaries; what one can say to other people, for example,” adds Joshua Kiefer (18).

Together with the two Luxembourg film fans Damir Mehic (18) and Gabriel Thym (16), the four of them use their films to observe what divides people. “What does one reveal about oneself and what are the limits of patience? When is a joke funny; when does it become tasteless? Our whole earth and its resources are currently reaching their limits. Our film selection gets to the bottom of these issues,” says Anna.

The Young European Cinephiles use their film knowledge and jury experience at festivals in Germany and Luxembourg to think outside the box. They put together a surprising program and display. Whether it is the boundaries of good taste that divide us, cultural barriers or ecological habitats – the lines may not even be visible. But once they are crossed, there is often no turning back. However, common border experiences also weld together and make clear what is important.

THE TRUMAN SHOW

US 1998. D: Peter Weir. A: Andrew Niccol. Fiction. 103 min. OV with Ger. ST. Suitable from age 12. Recommended from age 13

THU, 19.9. | 8.30 pm | Kino des DFF
LUCAS-OPENING FILM

HOME

FR 2009. D: Yann Arthus-Bertrand. A: Isabelle Delannoy, Yann Arthus-Bertrand, Denis Carot, Yen Le Van. Documentary. 89 min. Eng. Version with German ST. No age restriction. Recommended from age 13.

FRI, 20.9. | 6.30 pm | Kino des DFF
THU, 26.9. | 10.30 am | CineStar Metropolis

LE PRÉNOM 

FR/BE 2012. D: Alexandre de La Patellière, Matthieu Delaporte. A: Alexandre de La Patellière, Matthieu Delaporte. Fiction. 109 min. OV with Eng. ST. Suitable from age 12. Recommended from age 15

SAT, 21.9. | 6 pm | Kino des DFF

YECs 2019

YOUNG EUROPEAN CINEPHILES

CROSSING BORDERS Mit den »YECs« kommt die junge Generation europäischer Cineast/innen nach Frankfurt: Vier Jugendliche aus Deutschland und Luxemburg präsentieren ihr Filmprogramm im Kino und diskutieren mit den Festivalbesucher/ innen zu einem aktuellen Thema. Es geht um »Grenzen«, frei interpretiert und aus unterschiedlichen Blickwinkeln betrachtet.

  Anna Brilla 
  Damir Mehic
Gabriel Thym
  Joshua Kiefer

Wo sind meine Grenzen, deine, unsere? Sind sie überhaupt wahrzunehmen und was passiert, wenn man sie überschreitet? „Beim Thema Grenzen denkt man zunächst an Geografie und Landkarten: an Grenzen zwischen Ländern, Grundstücken und an Menschen, die sich darüber hinweg bewegen“, erläutert Anna Brilla (18) die Überlegungen der »YECs« zum Thema. „Aber auch einzelne Menschen testen permanent Grenzen aus; was man zu anderen Leuten sagen kann, zum Beispiel“ ergänzt Joshua Kiefer (18).

Gemeinsam mit den beiden Luxemburger Filmfans Damir Mehic (18) und Gabriel Thym (16) betrachten die vier mit ihren Filmen, was Menschen entzweit. „Was gibt man über sich preis und welche Grenze hat Geduld? Bis wann ist ein Scherz witzig, wann wird er geschmacklos? Unsere ganze Erde und ihre Ressourcen kommen aktuell an ihre Grenzen. Diesen Themen geht unsere Filmauswahl auf den Grund“, so Anna.

Die Young European Cinephiles nutzen ihr Filmwissen und ihre Juryerfahrungen auf Festivals in Deutschland und Luxemburg, um gemeinsam außerhalb der Schublade zu denken. Sie stellen ein überraschendes Programm zusammen und zeigen: Ob es die Grenzen des guten Geschmacks sind, die uns trennen, kulturelle Barrieren oder ökologische Lebensräume – die Linien sind vielleicht nicht einmal sichtbar. Doch sind sie einmal überschritten, gibt es oft kein Zurück mehr. Gemeinsame Grenzerfahrungen schweißen aber auch zusammen und machen deutlich, worauf es ankommt.

THE TRUMAN SHOW | DIE TRUMAN SHOW

US 1998. R: Peter Weir. A: Andrew Niccol. Spielfilm. 103 Min. OmU. FSK 12. empfohlen ab 13

DO, 19.9. | 20:30 Uhr | Kino des DFF
LUCAS-ERÖFFNUNGSFILM

HOME | HOME – DIE GESCHICHTE EINER REISE

FR 2009. R: Yann Arthus-Bertrand. A: Isabelle Delannoy, Yann Arthus-Betrand, Denis Carot, Yen Le Van. Dokumentarfilm. 89 Min. engl. Fassung mit dt. UT. FSK 0. empfohlen ab 13

FR, 20.9. | 18:30 Uhr | Kino des DFF
DO, 26.9. | 10:30 Uhr | CineStar Metropolis

LE PRÉNOM | DER VORNAME

FR/BE  2012. R: Alexandre de La Patellière, Matthieu Delaporte. A: Alexandre de La Patellière, Matthieu Delaporte. Spielfilm. 109 Min. OmeU. FSK 12. empfohlen ab 15

SA, 21.9. | 18 Uhr | Kino des DFF